Under admin / site preferences it is possible to uncheck 'communication preferences' under 'editting'. When unchecked it is no longer possible to edit the data on the contact record. However when viewing the contact it still shows up. Maybe it is better that when editing is not possible, viewing is also hidden.
Also check other preference options for similar condition.